Posted by: adeepershadeofsoul | September 26, 2009

Enjoy the Brief Moments

Life is full of ups and downs…..typically more downs than ups unfortunately.  Life also has a way of making you feel completely comfortable and at ease one minute and then completely in shock and despair only a few minutes later.

And then there are moments….moments like I had last week….moments where you just stop, take a breath, look around you and just thank God for being alive.  These true moments of bliss come few and far between, but when they do come we just have to take the time to appreciate them.

First and foremost we have to learn to identify those rare moments.  Unfortunately, most of us are just too busy to even recognize these beautiful moments in life let alone learn to appreciate them.  We just go on about living our lives void of any reflection.  But I for one have learned to recognize and appreciate these brief moments of bliss.  And more importantly I have also recognized that it is only from the infinite Generosity and Blessings of Allah that He allows us to experience these moments.

I’ve been so blessed in my short time so far on this Earth.  These moments are rare but I’ve had many of them.  I’m going to share a few of them and I hope that you can respond to this post and share some of yours as well.

So here are some of my brief moments of bliss:

  • Last week was my first Eid away from my family ever.  I was dreading it….it was going to suck big time!  But Alhamdulillah about a week before Eid I decided to go and visit some friends in a country close by.  To make a long story short….I ended up on Eid day with my friends that I was visiting and we were at a lovely couples’ house who I just met.  These people were so warm and hospitable that it almost felt like being back at home with my family.  So there I sat in this lovely and cozy house with two wonderfully happy couples sharing stories and just enjoying each other’s company.  And I hit pause in my mind and took a picture of that moment, because it was beautiful and blissful.  Here I was in a foreign country for the first time, at a total stranger’s home who refused to let me stay at a hotel, having a wonderful time on Eid.
  • I was blessed to be able to go hiking in the Rocky Mountains.  On one 3 hour hike I was up around 12,000+ feet and could barely breath.  I was stuggling just to stay upright, but I was determined to reach my destination.  Thankfully, Alhamdulillah I made it to the shores of a pristine lake in the middle of the mountains.  So I sat down next to this lake which was surrounded by snow capped mountain peaks and who’s waters were barely above freezing temperature.  I sat there and took in the moment…..and thanked God to allow me to witness such beauty.
  • I will share one more moment that happened to me just a couple of weeks ago.  Some brothers and I went out to the desert to pray qiyam ul layl (The night prayer)  under the stars. I was excited before we got there, but it far exceeded my expectations.  We were on the top of a giant sand dune; the moon was shining so bright that we didn’t even need to turn on our flashlights to see all around us.  The stars decorated the sky majestically; and the dune happened to be located right next to the Arabian Sea; so we not only had the beauty of the dune, the stars, and the moon, but we also had the beauty of the sea right next to us.  And to top it all off….the Qiyamul Layl was led by the son of one of the brothers that came with us.  He was a nine year old Hafiz (someone who has memorized the Quran) reciting surahs (chapters) that none of us “old” men had memorized.  After the prayer I just looked up, my eyes swelled up with tears….and then I just thanked Allah for blessing me with this amazing experience.
  • These brief moments don’t have to take place in exotic locales…..I pretty much have these moments every morning when I walk back home from fajr.  I feel the breeze on my face, hear the rooster’s crowing and see the brotherhood of people of all ages and all walks of life waking up at 4 am and walking to go start their day by praising and thanking God.  It’s a daily moment of bliss.

So now it’s your turn….I would love to hear about your Moments of Bliss.  Please share them so that we can all benefit.

Responses

  1. WOW MR. JALALI…………… i cant even tell u how lucky u r…

  2. 🙂 Yes Alhamdulillah I am extremely blessed! Allah is Kareem (The Most Generous) and He is Ash Shakoor (The One Who is Deserving of Thanks).

  3. mashaAllah.. just be wary of the deserts lol

    did you ever hear of that one story where this shaykh had to pray in the middle of the desert by himself…hes reciting surah fatiha…siraatul ladheena anamta alayhim ghayril maghdubi alayhim waladhaaalleeeenn…

    “AMEEEEEEENNNNNNNN!”

    there were jinns praying behind him 🙂

  4. salaam

    if u’ve ever been to madinah…try going to the roof…during qiyyam ul layl….subhanAllah i went there during hajj….and it was one of the most serene and peaceful moments in my short life…just sitting there…by yourself…in the masjid of our beloved Prophet (pbuh)….Alhamdulillah….to me thats an experience like no other…May Allah allow us all to go there at least once in our lifetime…and for those that have been…may He allow us to return there again and again. ameen.

  5. Wow….that sounds amazing! I’ll try to do that one day inshallah. Jazakallahukhair for sharing that.

  6. very nice mashallah…
    u forgot to mention that you led the witr and we enjoyed a beautiful dua’ … indeed the weather was beautiful, the location was beautiful and above all, the company was beautiful.

    may Allah keep us alive to witness another Ramadan, so we can do it all over again 🙂

    • Ameen to your dua……and jazakallahukhair for the comment. But definitely Abdullah was the man that night!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

