Posted by: adeepershadeofsoul | October 2, 2009

What Lies Inside?

There are two beautiful statements made by great companions of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) that I want to share.  I can’t seem to remember the name of the companion who made the first statement, but it was and still is to this day a profound one.

He said that if the non believers knew what we (referring to himself and the other believers) had in our hearts…they would come and fight us for it.

Meaning that what the believers had in their hearts was more valuable than gold or jewels or any material things.  What they had in their hearts was a level of peace and tranquility that could not be exchanged for all of the wealth in the world.  If the others knew the treasure that lay within their hearts they would want it and they would fight them for it.

And this goes along with something that the Prophet peace be upon him said which was (I am paraphrasing…not quoting) that true wealth is not the wealth of the dinar (money), rather true wealth is the wealth of the heart.

These statements only lead me to one conclusion, which is to ask myself: Do I have in my heart what they had?   Is there a treasure that lies beneath my chest?  Would people want what I have in my heart?

This is a question that I’ve asked myself many times and I don’t know the answer to it, but I pray that at some point in my life God blesses me with a beautiful heart.

To end this post…I want to mention the second of two profound statements from one of the companions of the prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him).  This companion’s name was Omar ibn al Khattab and he was one of the greatest people to ever walk the face of the earth.

Omar used to make this supplication to God:

Oh Allah (God) make my inside better than my outside.

What an amazing supplication!  What a beautiful thing to ask for.

I ask Allah to bless us all with beautiful hearts.

I ask Allah to make what is in our hearts better than what the people see of us or what we portray to others.

Ameen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

